Sterling H. Schoen Achievement Award

Courageous leadership in advancing the goal of equal opportunity

Sterling Schoen

Sterling Schoen

Established April 2001

The Sterling H. Schoen Achievement Award was established in honor of The Consortium’s founder, Dr. Sterling H. Schoen, an agent for change in graduate management education in partnership with American businesses. The award is presented annually to individuals in recognition of their courageous leadership and commitment in advancing the goal of equal opportunity for underrepresented minorities in American business.

To qualify for this award, the individual must demonstrate the following:

  • Evidence of encouragement and motivation given to others to take leadership in business education and careers in business
  • Evidence of support of projects in the community, nationally and/or internationally, that would provide opportunities for people of color
  • Evidence of support of innovative approaches to solving problems
  • Evidence of generous contributions of service, time and efforts to provide financial support for graduate business education

Past Recipients of the Sterling H. Schoen Achievement Award:

Year Recipient
2023 Dr. Vallabh “Samba” Sabamurthy
Dean, Wisconsin School of Business
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Blair Sanford
Assistant Dean, MBA & Master’s Program
University of Wisconsin-Madison

2022 Andrew Scott Ainslie
Dean, Simon Business School 2014-2020
Benjamin Forman Professor in Marketing
2021 Rebekah Lewin
Senior Assistant Dean of Admissions and Programs
University of Rochester
2020 Bryan Johnson
Senior Associate Director of Admissions, Diversity & Inclusion
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
2018 Rich Lyons
Bank of America Dean
Haas School of Business
University of California, Berkeley
2017 David B. Wooten
Alfred L. Edwards Collegiate Professor and Associate Professor of Marketing
Ross School of Business
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
(Consortium alumnus, Michigan, 1987)
2016 Mahendra Gupta
Olin Business School
Washington University in St. Louis
2015 Wendy Huber
Assistant Dean
Darden School of Business
University of Virginia
2014 James Holmen
Director of Administration and Financial Aid
Kelly School of Business MBA Program
Indiana University-Bloomington
2013 Joe Fox
Associate Dean for MBA Programs
Olin Business School
Washington University in St. Louis
2012 Colleen McMullen
Executive Director, Diversity Initiatives
Carnegie Mellon University
Tepper School of Business
2011 Sherry Wallace
Director, MBA Admissions
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Kenan-Flagler Business School
2010 Earl Hill
Senior Lecturer in Organization and Management
Emory University
2009 Philip J. Miller
Assistant Dean for Research Programs
University of Wisconsin-Madison
2008 Dr. Alfred L. Edwards (Posthumous)
Professor Emeritus of Economics and Public Policy
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
2007 C. Randall Powell
Clinical Professor Emeritus of Business Administration
Indiana University-Bloomington
2006 Wallace L. Jones (Posthumous)
Executive Director
The Consortium
2005 Nicole Chestang
Chief Operating Officer
Graduate Management Admissions Council
Consortium Alumnus
Washington University in St. Louis, Class of 1988
2004 Mary Sue Coleman
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
2003 Bernard (Bernie) J. Milano
President and Trustee – KPMG Foundation and
President of the KPMG Disaster Relief Fund
2002 Charlie Miersch
Senior Associate Dean, Corporate Relations & Institutional Advancement
University of Rochester
(Over 20 years of service on The Consortium Board of Directors)
2001 Robert (Bob) Virgil
General Principal
Edward Jones & Co.
(Served as Dean of Olin School of Business at Washington University in St. Louis from 1977-1992)